Is Ciara Linnane Correct or just desperate to get her word count up?

Sometimes Journalists will spout any old shit…

Yes, sadly it seems that many journalists will, as a requirement of their contract with a publisher or news website that they work for, grasp at straws to make a story that gets their word count up.   It seems that Ciara Linnane of MarketWatch feels that Apple Pay has never really taken off since its launch back in 2014.  In fact she proceeeds to tell everyone why, but has she really got a grasp of what is a successful or not and how does she really compare it.

Is Apple Pay really suffering from lackluster performance or is the claim a generalization of all Mobile payment platforms?

While she uses, or abuses the use of the Apple Keyword the title seems to imply that the original story was about mobile payment platforms in general.  The trouble is the use of Apple as the scapegoat for the blame of failure.

I would go as far as to say that compared to rivals from Google, the old payment platform that was originally supported by various carriers and launched under the insane name ISIS and then renamed and finally sold as a failure to Google who used the technology in their revised payment platform.

In fact as Google was the first to introduce Mobile Payment’s in the form of the Google Wallet a good one or two years before Apple Pay was even a twinkle in the eyes of Apple I would say the whole blame for a slow uptake in mobile payments or to be more precious and accurate CONTACTLESS PAYMENTS at checkout etc.

We could in fact go further and say that the failure of Contactless payment could be blamed on the banking institutions.  Most of the checkouts that took “Blink” or other Tap and pay payment’s were heavily promoted by Banks and card processors way before Android was on the scene.  I used Tap and Pay with a Washington Mutual debit card back before Android was even around to buy groceries and while the functionality remained in their debits and is still present in many debit cards they just never took off.

Why did Tap and Pay never take off?

I believe that the root cause has been users, people don’t like adopting something new and  tap and pay was new and scary.  Yes, SCARY!  What kind of voodoo magic is it where you don’t slide that card inside the card reader?  American’s for the better part are fearful of new things.

EMV is distressing people just as much,  it’s different and they don’t like it. They are used to swiping a card, signing their name and paying for the purchaser and they can’t get past it.

Tap and pay was too different and it suffered.  EMV chip cards are a forced product on them and they struggling to adopt them because checkouts still have magnetic readers and people want to swipe that card and get distressed when it tells them to insert the card or just ignores the swiped card.

Apple Pay and other NFC tech’s like Tap and Pay are being adopted and Apple Pay is a success

While I am including Apple’s Rival contactless payment platforms in this it wasn’t until Apple Pay that the adoption rate didn’t take off.

In fact it’s a convenience situation, it is far more convenient for most people to pull a card out of their wallet than dig out a phone.  I myself didn’t start using Apple Pay as often as I do (and it’s not really as often as I could) until I bought the Apple Watch and it became convenient to hold my watch near the Point Of Sale Card reader and let it do the business.

This is the whole problem with all these platforms and the bigger the phone and more awkward it is to activate the mobile payment platform the more likely you are to just pull out that wallet and stick the card in the slot.

Apple Pay though is spreading and just as I said above, Apple Pay became the trigger that made NFC payments used by all platforms and it has become supported by more and more retailers and banks.

If you look at Apple Pay and compare it to “Android Pay”, “Google Pay” or whatever the name Google are using as branding of the month for their payments product and Chase Bank.  On the day that Apple Pay launched Chase Bank supported Apple Pay.  It was not until a few weeks ago that Google’s payment platform became supported by Chase Bank.

Let me clarify that last statement, Google Wallet indirectly supported Chase bank when Google held a balance independently of your bank account or credit card and Google’s Wallet sucked from that source when handling payments and you had to make sure that you had funds available.  This was why I didn’t use Google Wallet to purchase from my local grocers store even though it was supported, it was just not convenient to use and the ISIS version was just as bad, no it was worse, it was so damned slow that any fresh produced you purchased risked going out of date while the payment was processed because it wanted to talk to the company and further more you had to have a really good connection speed to use it or it could and mostly would fail, rather embarrassingly at the checkout in front of many disgruntled fellow customers behind you.

I don’t care that Apple Pay is not a roaring success because there is not every single customer at a check out using it, heck I still stand there waiting for people to write checks at the checkout, I don’t care one iota about this.  It is the fact that people are using it and many are using it consistently and that makes it a success.

When it comes to purchasing online I would rather use Apple Pay at checkout than enter a credit card.  When I get gasoline I go to Exxon/Mobil locations that I know support Apple Pay so that I can process the credit card before I get out of my truck and I know that even if someone has put a card skimmer onto the pump it will not affect me, I won’t be at risk, and I will go to an Exxon/Mobil location in preference even when it may cost me more for the gasoline.

Apple Pay is a success contrary to the Ciara Linnane’s point of view

