Mobile Apps, duplicity and replication

If you go through an App Store, any App Store for any platform what do you see?

Amazingly depending on the theme of the game then those of a similar theme, for example matching similar graphics they tend to be almost identical in design. They tend to be free with ‘in-app purchases’ and they tend to have an annoying training character that teaches you how to play the game and for some of them even turning off this annoying monstrosity it will continue to teach you how to swipe you freaking finger along 5 identical emblems in a row.

In fact for most of these semi-puzzle games they also have the same point where it becomes annoyingly hard to beat a level unless you pay the pipe for extra features like more moves etc.

It doesn’t even matter whether the developer is the same one or it is a different developer they all are almost cookie cutter and the launch of an extremely popular game theme suddenly has a flurry of almost identical style games to appear.

A prime example of this was Clash of Clans, after it became extremely popular there was a slew of rival games with different themes from various developers but the underlying gameplay was identical and it became immensely boring, every game claims to be unique but they are almost identical.

Even with these games that have the ‘God’ like theme of you being an entity with god like powers controlling these little people and their environment with an emphasis that if you want to “progress rapidly” you should spend spend spend and by that I mean spend real money to get further faster.

I’m not slagging off the need to monetize their product but it gets tiring.   Especially when you have hosts of some shows say “I throw them some cash to support them” when it turns out that they were paid to promote the app on their show and why they played and played until the money stopped flowing to them to promote then they moved to the next app that was willing to pay for a quick promotion.  In fact the presenter would blatantly turn his back on an app within hours of the money flow after pushing his viewers to play the game ‘along with him’.

These days, I will gladly pay up front for a game app as long as I don’t have to purchase more features inside the game to progress, for me that is like getting butt fucked one then strapped to a tree a few minutes later and being told to squeal like a piggy.

It makes me wonder…

Yes it really does make me wonder, if they went through the app stores and removed blatant duplication by companies of games that are the same theme like Angry Birds, Clash of Clans, these “Saga” style games where it is really the same game over and over and over to dupe idiots into spending then spending again and limited it to a single game of that style how many games there would be left on mobile app stores.

Even more so, how many apps for other useless things could this apply to.  If I see one more ‘paid for’ app that carries out the same freaking task that the built in app’s already do perfectly well or better.   Let’s face it, do we need multiple PDF viewers, multiple alerts for the number of gmail emails that we have waiting to be read all costing between $1 and $5 yet the same functionality is built into the original apps.

If I went through my own ‘purchased’ I’d find the following;

1. I paid over $100 for a Navigation App and the extra modules need to make it work that I no longer use, I use the Maps app for either Google Maps or Apple depending on which one shows the best route.

2. A humungous load of ‘free apps’ that aren’t really free, they all expect purchases.

3. An app to allow the access to Google’s productivity apps on mobile that I paid for and then gave up using because it kept crashing only for that same app to be deprecated by the introduction of app’s from Google that did the same thing and did it better.

4. Multiple social media apps that were third party and which were then blocked by those social media platforms to give their own apps focus.

5. Many recommended app’s that were supposed to be better than the OS’s built in versions such as email or browser, only to end up returning to the OS’s built in versions because they just worked.

I’ve used Android, I’ve used iOS and the problem appears on both platforms.  Worse still I used to purchase duplicate app’s on both platforms.  If I had a Windows based phone I’d have ended up buying on there where possible.

Funnily enough the one reason I stick with Apple, apart from

the appalling lack of ‘security’ on Android (as seen by the latest Gooligan malware) and terrible update cycle by phone makers and carriers that leave you with a perfectly good phone that you can’t easily install a newer version of the OS, even though it is capable of running that OS version physically

is that you never know when you purchase an app whether it will suddenly not be compatible with another phone that you purchase from another maker running exactly the same version of the OS and no reason is given.  I can understand it when it is an older phone running an app from a newer device but some of these apps wouldn’t run on a much newer device even from the same maker.  I needed consistency of experience.

These days I am far more selective, I rarely download an app unless it is something that I really want or something that is really recommended.

Most times I tend to limit my use because of all the duplicity present on app stores.

 

